databases
Library Resource Updates for April
The University Libraries are happy to announce the following updates to our collections:
TumbleBookCloud Is Now TeenBookCloud
TumbleBookCloud is now TeenBookCloud. TeenBookCloud is an online collection of ebooks, enhanced novels, graphic novels, videos and audio books, which offers students and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content.
TeenBookCloud is available via the Libraries’ A-Z Database List, the GIL-Find catalog, and Discover@Georgia Southern. The old link to TumbleBookCloud will be removed from the library website April 24, 2019, so please begin using the new link.
Family Health Database (ProQuest) is now Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
Family Health Database (ProQuest) is now Consumer Health Database (ProQuest). Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context; from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) is available via the Libraries’ A-Z Database List, the GIL-Find catalog, and Discover@Georgia Southern. The old link to Family Health Database (ProQuest) will be removed from the library website April 24, 2019, so please begin using the new link.
Macon Telegraph Archive & Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive Are Now Part of Georgia Historic Newspapers
The Macon Telegraph Archive and the Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive have now both been fully absorbed into the Digital Library of Georgia’s new Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive website. The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.
Georgia Historic Newspapers is available via the Libraries’ A-Z Database List, the GIL-Find catalog, and Discover@Georgia Southern. The old links to the Macon Telegraph Archive and the Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive will be removed from the library website April 24, 2019, so please begin using the new link.
For more information, Ask Us!
- Zach S. Henderson Library: Contact the Research Services Desk at 912-478-5645.
- Lane Library: Contact the Reference Desk at 912-344-3026.
Library Resource Updates for January
The University Libraries are happy to announce the following updates to our collections:
GALILEO Upgrades Three EBSCO Databases
GALILEO has upgraded the following three databases for all USG institutions, including Georgia Southern University. These databases have been updated accordingly on the Library website:
- Legal Collection is now Legal Source. Legal Source includes over 1100 full-text journals, more than 420 law reviews, and indexing for yearbooks, statutes, and other publications. See the expanded title list here. Legal Source is available via the A-Z Database List, GIL-Find, and Discover @ Georgia Southern.
- Literary Reference Center is now Literary Reference Center Plus. Literary Reference Center Plus includes expanded content, including more full-text novels, literary journals, poems, and fiction. See the expanded title list here. Literary Reference Center Plus is available via the A-Z Database List, GIL-Find, and Discover @ Georgia Southern.
- Newspaper Source is now Newspaper Source Plus. Newspaper Source Plus includes 1200 full-text newspapers (over 800 more than the basic Newspaper Source), over 40 news magazines, and over 130 newswires. See the expanded title list here. Newspaper Source Plus is available via the A-Z Database List, GIL-Find, and Discover @ Georgia Southern.
Georgia Antebellum Newspapers Are Now Freely Available Online
As part of a $14,495 grant from the R. J. Taylor, Jr. Foundation, the Digital Library of Georgia has digitized approximately 53,930 pages of Georgia newspaper titles published prior to 1861 from microfilm held by the Georgia Newspaper Project. The project creates full-text searchable versions of the newspapers and presents them online for free in its Georgia Historic Newspapers database in accordance with technical guidelines developed by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress for the National Digital Newspaper Program. For more information, see the Digital Library of Georgia blog.
138 pre-Civil War titles have been digitized from the following Georgia cities: Albany, Americus, Athens, Atlanta, Augusta, Auraria, Calhoun, Carrollton, Cartersville, Cassville, Clarkesville, Columbus, Covington, Cuthbert, Darien, Forsyth, Ft. Hawkins, Greensboro, Griffin, Hamilton, Louisville, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Mount Zion, Newnan, Oglethorpe, Penfield, Petersburg, Rome, Savannah, Sparta, Thomaston, Thomasville, Warrenton, and Washington.
The Georgia Historic Newspapers database is available via the A-Z Database List, GIL-Find, and Discover @ Georgia Southern.
For more information, Ask Us!
- Zach S. Henderson Library: Contact the Research Services Desk at 912-478-5645.
- Lane Library: Contact the Reference Desk at 912-344-3026.